Posted by: Bro Jer | February 3, 2010

Scars of Service


“What nobler decoration of honor can any godly man seek after than his scars of service, his losses for the crown, his reproaches for Christ’s sake, his being worn out in his Master’s service!” Unknown

All soldiers compare their wounds and battle stories, especially when in their sunset days. They are proud to share them as badges of honor, as victory scars of service for their homeland, proving they made it through the campaigns, the conflicts.

How many saints in heaven will not have battle scars, their scars of service, endured for the sake of their heavenly homeland? Not a single one! Male or female, all will be a part of that brotherhood of soldiers, who have fought the good fight and won.

As Paul approached the end of his life, he gave his valedictory speech in his second letter to Timothy, “For I am already being poured out as a drink offering, and the time of my departure is at hand. I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith. Finally, there is laid up for me the crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous Judge, will give to me on that Day, and not to me only but also to all who have loved His appearing.” (2 Tim. 4:6-7 NKJV)

How many victory scars of service did Paul have? More than most of us. Some may have even more than Paul. But he fought the good fight. He endured the scars. He received his crown.

Charles Spurgeon (a British preacher in the 1800s) said, “We will be content to share the battle, for we shall soon wear the crown and wave the palm.”

We all suffer struggles of one sort or another and one day they will cease. When we come to the end of our earthly conflicts, we will all gather on those heavenly shores and exchange the sagas of our days on the battlefield.

How many different service scars will we find? What stories of conflict will we hear? Voices will ring out…

*See, here, that’s my scar of divorce.
*This one is the scar of prison.
*This one is the scar of severe sickness.
*This one is the scar of being abused as a child.
*This one is the heartache of my spouse’s infidelity.

*Mine is the scar of rape.
*This is the scar of poverty.
*This is the scar of great heartache.
*This is the scar of children who went the way of the world.
*This is the scar of agony of torture for my stance in the Lord.

Throughout all our battles, God says to us, “Don’t be afraid, for I am with you. Don’t be discouraged, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you. I will hold you up with My victorious right hand.” (Is. 41:10 NLT)

God is our help and our shield (Ps. 33:20). We have His full armor to protect us (Eph. 6:11). He never leaves us on the battlefield alone. He is Immanuel…God with us, always (Matt. 1:23).

What battles do you fight? Are you victorious? What scars of service do you proudly share with others, telling them you made it through the conflicts?

When our days of battle on earth end, I will meet you on those heavenly shores. We will wear our crowns of perseverance and wave our palms of victory. I look forward to sharing with you the scars of service we have each endured.

To God be the glory!

Many thanks to, Lynn Mosher, for allowing me to re-post this here!

Leave a Reply

Categories

