Posted by: Bro Jer | August 9, 2012

Sample P2P Devotional for FRIDAY, AUGUST 10

FRIDAY, AUGUST 10

“For we cannot but speak the things which we have seen and heard.”

Acts 4: 20

Be Bold For Jesus

In today’s devotional Peter and John just healed a man who was crippled from birth with help from Jesus.  The priests, Captain of the Temple Guard, and the Sadducees didn’t like it, so they put them in jail and told them not to speak about Jesus again.

Ever since I have been in prison, I have been witnessing for Jesus.  I have written letters to inmates in other prisons.  I have even written to people on the streets.  I talk about Jesus and our Heavenly Father throughout my day.  I am bold about Jesus to everyone except my family.  I have had trouble talking to them about God and what He has done for me.  I was afraid of rejection.  But God told me that if I didn’t, I wouldn’t see some of them in heaven.  Please pray for me that I will be bold for Jesus to my family.

We may sometimes be afraid to share our faith in Christ because people may feel uncomfortable or reject us.  But Peter and John’s zeal for the Lord was so strong that they couldn’t keep quiet, even when threatened.  If your courage to witness for God has weakened, pray that your boldness may increase.  And don’t be surprised if some people reject your witness.  When minds are closed, even the clearest presentation of the facts can’t open them.  But don’t give up either.  Continue to pray for them and show them the love of God and ‘never’ stop spreading the Good News.  God bless you. –C.J.

  Psalm 88        Judges 9:1–16, 19–21        Acts 4:13–31        John 2:1–12

Editor’s Notes

Greetings and welcome to another issue of Prisoner to Prisoner ®. Before coming to prison July and August was always a time of looking forward to vacations and family picnics. On the fourth of July we always had a big cookout and watched the fireworks at a nearby park. In prison we try to avoid fireworks because they are usually a different type than what we prefer.

I am sure that the readers of Prisoner to Prisoner have the same memories of 4th of July family picnics and summer vacations as the writers of Prisoner to Prisoner® also enjoyed. We can’t provide the fireworks or even the hamburgers and hot dogs that are missed by all of us. We can however provide you with spiritual food that we get from the Holy Spirit as we write our daily devotionals.

Prisoner to Prisoner is written by men and women from all parts of the country. I imagine that the celebration of Independence Day is similar whether in the North, South, East or West; fireworks and lots of burned hot dogs and hamburgers. Here at Prisoner to Prisoner we like to provide a different kind of food along with leading people to a different type of Independence Day; independence from sin and the cares of the world that have a tendency to weigh us down. Along with the spiritual food that can only be obtained through Jesus Christ we will have the freedom that many people who don’t know our Lord have ever found.

If you see someone who looks like they don’t have the independence you have found, you are encouraged to use this devotional as a tool for showing them the freedom you have found. –D.J.M. Sr. Resident Manuscript Editor

Questions?  Contact the P2P® office at:  (937) 291-1624

Or email:  prisoner2prisoner@gmail.com

Download a P2P order form at:

http://kairosohio.org/PrisonertoPrisoner.html


Leave a comment

Categories